561-495-4950 info@drsantoro.com

Automobile Insurance in Florida

Important information to know when you’ve sustained an injury in an automobile accident

Florida is a No Fault State, when it comes to medical coverage. That means that if two parties are involved in an accident, their own insurance pays for their own injuries, no matter who caused the accident. For example, John collides into Susan. John was at fault in this situation and Susan gets hurt. Despite this, Susan’s insurance covers her medical treatment even though John was at fault.

The standard PIP (Personal injury protection) policy in Florida has a $10,000 limit per accident, paid at 80% with no deductible. However, your policy can be altered. Each change in your policy will either raise or lower your premium payment.

If you raise the amount of medical coverage, your premium will increase. If you add deductible, your premium will decrease. My experience has shown that the cost of increasing your coverage is inexpensive, relative to the total cost of your six month premium. Whereas, when increasing your deductible, your premiums are reduced so little, that for most people, it might not make sense to do so.


Ask your insurance representative these questions

To reduce my out-of-pocket expenses, how much more per month would increasing my PIP coverage from 80% to 100% cost?
If I add a $1,000 PIP deductible, how much am I saving in premium costs per month?
Does that mean if I am in an accident that the first $1,000 of medical benefits is my responsibility?

By getting the answers to these questions, it will be easier for you to decide what the most cost-effective auto insurance policy is for you and your family.


Please note: A very signficant addition to the Florida PIP law began on January 1, 2013. It mandates that an injured person has only 14 days from the date of the accident to be examined. (ER, chiropractor, medical doctor, osteopath)

I’ve been treated automobile injuries, including whiplash, for over 35 years, so I understand the medical concerns that patients have. Don’t worry, I am here to help you and your family with your healthcare needs! Plus, if your condition requires additional doctor or legal referrals, I can help with those as well.

Quick disclaimer: I am not an attorney or insurance agent. Any information stated above are my observations and opinion only. If you have any questions about your insurance coverage or your injuries, you should speak to your insurance agent and/or a PIP attorney.

I'm a provider for the following major Health Plans and more!

If you don't see your insurance here, don't worry! Contact me and I'll let you know if I can help!

Still unsure about Chiropractic care?

Come in for a free consultation (a $75 value) and we can discuss how Chiropractic treatment can help you! I've provided the first visit forms for you to download at your convenience. This information will help me understand your condition, so I can recommend the best care for you!

The patient and any other person responsible for payment has a right to refuse to pay, cancel payment, or be reimbursed for payment for any other service, examination, or treatment that is performed as a result of and within 72 hours of responding to the advertisement for the free, discounted fee, or reduced fee service, examination, or treatment.